<< Back to All News

Wright Brothers Master Pilot Awards in Houston

Houston, June 27, 2024—The Houston Chapter of 99s and West Houston Airport had the honor of presenting sixteen individuals with a Wright Brothers Master Pilot award at a ceremony June 25 at West Houston Airport. Four of those sixteen recipients are active Colonel members of the Commemorative Air Force. The pilots presented with the Wright Brothers Master Pilot award on June 25 collectively had over 800 years of flying experience.

The recipients of the Award on June 25 were:

The Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award is named in honor of Orville and Wilbur Wright who were the two American aviation pioneers credited with inventing, building, and flying the world's first successful motor-operated airplane. This distinguishable honor is presented to airmen of distinction. To be eligible for the Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award, nominees must meet the following criteria:

  • Hold a U.S. Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) or Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) pilot certificate.
  • Have 50 or more years of civil and military piloting experience or 50 or more years combined experience in both piloting and aircraft operations.
    o Up to 20 years of the required 50 years may be U.S. military experience.
    o The effective start date for the 50 years is the date of the nominee’s first solo flight or military equivalent.
    o The 50 years may be computed consecutively or non-consecutively.
  • Be a U.S. citizen.
  • Have NOT had any airman certificate revoked.
Commemorative Air Force is a 501(c)(3) donations are tax deductible. EIN 74-1484491 | Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved. | Privacy Policy | Members Login